Digital Participation : The Green Belt Movement by Wangari Maathai

This video introduces the green belt movement in Kenya and Wangari Maathai.

Wangari Maathai was the first women to earn Ph.d degree in Eastern Africa.

She is also a first woman to receive the Novel Peace Prize in Africa.

She started the green belt mvoement to sustain its environment and empower women.

This is the movmenet against the drying up of river. Environemental issues affect African people seriously because

most countries in Africa depend on agriculture to make life. I thought this video is intersting because this is the nonviolent movement in Africa, in which people actied to change the environment by themselves.

About erika926nishihara

I am an international student from Japan. I lived in Kyoto. I major in International Relations. I am junior. My concentration of SIS is International Development in Africa.

Posted on December 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Digital Participation : The Green Belt Movement by Wangari Maathai.

Comments are closed.

