Short Story: The Asylum Seeker by Suketu Mehta

The Asylum Seeker short story tells a woman named Caroline who lives in three different identities as she desperately looks for an asylum in the U.S. Through the first person narrative, the story of Caroline depicts how political turmoil in central Africa forces many Africans to be immigrants in foreign countries. Mehta’s details of Caroline’s process for granting her asylum – lying about her names and making up the rape stories – further questions the importance of authenticity. Additionally, Mehta also creatively describes how asylum seekers view America as a land of opportunity and equality, even if they have to to get by due to their illegal status.

Link:

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2011/08/01/the-asylum-seeker

About monicatham

My name is Monica Tham, and I am originally from Indonesia. I've spent the last two years of community college in Seattle. So this will be my second year here in the capital, and I'm so excited to finish my senior year strong. I am majoring in International Studies at SIS with a concentration on Global Inequality and Development in Asia. This is my second class-related blog - but I hope you'd enjoy the content. I love short getaways to places I've never been to - I'm proud enough to call myself a travel buff and foodie :) Thanks for visiting my blog. Cheers, Monica

Posted on November 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Short Story: The Asylum Seeker by Suketu Mehta.

Comments are closed.

