Professor Fatima Meer from South Africa (Digital Participation)

Born in 1928 in Durban from an Indian father and Jewish-Portuguese mother, small Fatima is already exposed to acquire a good education. Fatima even earns Master’s degree in Sociology, which rarely happens at that time for black Muslim women to attend university. Having been raised in a liberal family, Fatima is also familiar with international news regarding racial discrimination during the colonial era. Fatima marks her career milestone by being an activist at the age of 16 to resist the apartheid regime when she was still in high school. Fatima realizes that a strong unity between Indian and Africans in Durban is important to deal with the racial discrimination. To that extent, Fatima is also a close working colleague of Nelson Mandela whose wife, Winnie Mandela, is detained together with the University of Natal graduate because of their resistance movements. Fatima’s journey seeking for equality comes at the price of herself that she is almost assassinated. Not only is she passionate about politics, Fatima also shows her benevolent side of her by helping out those suffering from poverty. Through her ups and downs in defending human rights during the apartheid politics, Fatima’s spirit and contributions should be preserved by young generations who wish to see more equality and justice in the years to come. After all, our future is in our hands.

Link:

About monicatham

My name is Monica Tham, and I am originally from Indonesia. I've spent the last two years of community college in Seattle. So this will be my second year here in the capital, and I'm so excited to finish my senior year strong. I am majoring in International Studies at SIS with a concentration on Global Inequality and Development in Asia. This is my second class-related blog - but I hope you'd enjoy the content. I love short getaways to places I've never been to - I'm proud enough to call myself a travel buff and foodie :) Thanks for visiting my blog. Cheers, Monica

Posted on October 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Professor Fatima Meer from South Africa (Digital Participation).

Comments are closed.

